New speakers & opportunities announced, earlybird tickets sold out!

Top-shelf Australian songwriters MEGAN WASHINGTON, KAV TEMPERLEY (Eskimo Joe, Basement Birds), ABBE MAY, ADALITA, KATE MILLER-HEIDKE, AMANDAH WILKINSON (Operator Please) and New Zealand songwriting master DON MCGLASHAN are just some of the recent additions to SONG SUMMIT 2012, the three-day music industry conference hosted by APRA|AMCOS to be held at Sydney Exhibition and Convention Centre on May 26th – 28th.

They join composer and producer FRANC TETAZ, CATHERINE BRITT, Kisschasy’s DARREN CORDEUX and U.S producer and sound engineer extraordinaire NICK DIDIA, who has engineered some of the biggest rock albums of the past decade (including Rage Against The Machine, Pearl Jam and Bruce Springsteen) and produced hugely successful albums by Australian artists including Powderfinger and The Living End.

Staged as part of Vivid Sydney (May 25th – June 11, 2012), EARLY-BIRD TICKETS for this major creative, business-development and networking expo for the music industry and music makers have now SOLD OUT!  For all ticketing details including student concession options please visit Song Summit’s official website:

At the end of this week, some tremendous, potentially career-changing opportunities will open for three-day SONG SUMMIT 2012 delegates:

LISTEN TO THE MUSIC (registrations open Thursday 15 March)

As part of Song Summit 2012, we are giving conference delegates the opportunity to receive advice and feedback on their music with Listening Panels.  These Listen to the Music sessions will give delegates the chance to have their music discussed by a panel of industry specialists who write, listen to or select music for a living.  A limited number of songs (submitted by delegates) will be chosen and discussed in front of an audience.  The panels will demonstrate how industry professionals, such as A&R executives, publishers, songwriters, producers and radio programmers choose the music they do, and why.  All three-day conference attendees are invited to submit songs for consideration.

PLAY THE MUSIC LIVE (registrations open Thursday 15 March)

In addition to the Listen to the Music panels, Song Summit offers the opportunity for three-day conference attendees to perform Live at SONG SUMMIT 2012.  By entering Play the Music LIVE you will have a chance to perform in front of industry, fellow songwriters and peers.

SMOKY DAWSON FOUNDATION OPPORTUNITY (registrations open Friday 16 March)

The Smoky Dawson Foundation has been created in memory of Australian country music legend Smoky Dawson to support Australian songwriters and the Australian music industry. Established by Smoky’s family, the foundation hopes to keep the memory of Smoky Dawson alive for generations to come.

Two scholarships will be awarded which provide the following:

*$2,000 cash

*A ticket to the APRA Music Awards

*Full three-day pass to Song Summit 2012

The recipients will also have a guaranteed place at the Smoky Dawson Career Development Workshop along with travel and accommodation expenses to attend Song Summit 2012 and the 2012 APRA Music Awards.

For more information on all of these SONG SUMMIT 2012 opportunities please visit

Stay tuned for details of final speakers and SONG SUMMIT 2012 program updates.

Early Bird tickets have now sold out!

For full registration and ticketing details including student concession options please visit Song Summit’s official website:

SONG SUMMIT 2012 – Speakers to date:

Megan Washington, Kate Miller-Heidke, Keir Nuttall, Adalita, Kav Temperley, Abbe May, Bow Campbell, Millie Millgate, Steve Parkin, Paul Greene, Don McGlashan (NZ), Adam Lewis, Amandah Wilkinson, Art Phillips, Ben King, Dom Alessio, Kim Green, Catherine Britt, Chris Johnson, Darren Cordeux, David Rowley, Danny Widdicombe, Andrew Morris, Burkhard Dallwitz, Amanda Brown, Franc Tetaz, Jacqui Crouch, John Clifford, Greg Arnold, Drew Crawford, Linda Tizzard, Lindsay Rimes, Mark Callaghan, Sally Wilson, Sam Buckingham, Simon Carter, Simon Moor, Mike Dixon, Nick Didia, Mick Daley, David Shiels, Jae Laffer who join Neil Finn, Wesley Enoch, Andrew Jenkins (UK), Arnthor Birgisson (SWE), David Touve (US), Gary Calamar (US), Imogen Heap (UK), Paul Kelly, Mark Wood (UK), Myles Keller (UK), Pat Pattison (US), Peter Coquillard (US), Robert Horsfall (UK), Steve Cropper (US), Shelly Peikin (US) Bill Cullen, Catherine Haridy, Dann Hume, Graham Ashton, Guy Sebastian, Jake Stone, Kev Carmody, Kevin Mitchell, P Money (NZ), Rob Conley, Tom Harris, Will Larnach Jones, Adam Argyle, Dave Batty, Rick Chen, Erana Clarke, Jen Cloher, Stu Crichton, Mick Daley, Brendan Gallagher, Peter Farnan, Marc Fennell, Phil Graham, Lee Groves, , Tim Levinson, Lior, Eric McCusker, Peter Northcote, Stephen Navin, Josh Pyke, Melinda Schneider, Stephan Schutze, Rai Thistlethwayte, Joan Warner, Jonathan Zwartz with final speakers to be announced. For more information on each speaker please go to:

SONG SUMMIT is part of Vivid Sydney, a unique annual festival of light, music and ideas running from May 25th to June 11, 2012.

SONG SUMMIT 2012 is supported by triple j Unearthed and Street Press Australia. Many thanks to our partners and sponsors of Song Summit 2012. A full list of sponsors can be found on the Song Summit website